Norwalk High School Boys Soccer


Joslyn named to Northeast 10 All-Rookie Team

November 8, 2013

Northeast-10 Conference announces its
2013 Men’s Soccer All-Conference selections

SOUTH EASTON, Mass. – Southern New Hampshire University senior Pierre Omanga has been named the 2013 Northeast-10 Conference Men’s Soccer Player of the Year, it was announced Friday afternoon by the conference office.

Omanga has helped lead the Penmen to 16 straight wins, including a perfect 13-0 regular season in conference play. He leads the Northeast-10 in both goals (17) and points (37), and has six multi-goal games and seven game-winners on the season. The Paris, France native also ranks among the top-10 in the nation in goals.

For the complete list of All-Conference and All-Rookie selections, please see below.

So. New Hampshire also claimed two other major awards, as graduate studentCallum Williams was named the Northeast-10 Defensive Player of the Year and head coach March Hubbard received Northeast-10 Coach of the Year honors.

Williams has anchored a Penmen defense that has allowed eight goals in 17 games, while limiting opponents to 42 shots on goal. Williams also has a goal and two assists for four points on the year.

Hubbard, currently in his sixth year at the helm of the Penmen, claims the third Northeast-10 Coach of the Year honor of his
career, having previously won it in 2008 and 2009. This fall, his So. New Hampshire team won its third regular-season title in six years and posted the first-ever 13-0 record in conference play since the Northeast-10 expanded to a 13-game league slate in 2000.

Merrimack College junior Jose Silva claimed Northeast-10 Goalkeeper of the Year honors for the second straight season, as Silva has posted a 0.53 goals-against average and .883 save percentage while starting all 17 games for the Warriors, who claimed the No. 2 seed in the Northeast-10 Championship.

Southern Connecticut State University freshman Sebastian Brems was named the Northeast-10 Rookie of the Year, as the midfielder totaled three goals and an assist for seven points for the Owls.

Among the First, Second and Third Team All-Conference honorees, So. New Hampshire led the way with 10 selections, while Franklin Pierce University saw seven receive league honors. So. Connecticut landed six on All-Conference teams and Adelphi University had five student-athletes selected.

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,000 student-athletes. Each year, 4,000 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 23 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.

2013 Northeast-10 Men’s Soccer First Team All-Conference
Name, School (Year, Position, Hometown)
Juan Aguair, Adelphi (Sr., M, Caracas, Venezuela)
Alejandro Penzini, Adelphi (So., F, Caracas, Venezuela)
Ed Sharman, American Int’l (So., F, Tunbridge Wells, England)
Scott Levy, Bentley (So., F, Canton, Mass.)
Gareth Dudney, Franklin Pierce (Sr., M, North Andover, Mass.)
Keleenna Onyeaka, Le Moyne (Jr., B, Birmingham, England)
Ronald Ried, Merrimack (So., B, Schwendi, Germany)
Jose Silva, Merrimack (Jr., GK, Northborough, Mass.)
Sebastian Brems, So. Connecticut (Fr., M, Odense, Denmark)
Jonas Folstad, So. Connecticut (So., B, Trondheim, Norway)
Yannick Kabala, So. New Hampshire (Jr., M, Manchester, N.H.)
Pierre Omanga*, So. New Hampshire (Sr., F, Paris, France)
Dominic Samuel, So. New Hampshire (So., B, Toronto, Ontario)
Callum Williams, So. New Hampshire (Gr., B, Ossett, England)

2013 Northeast-10 Men’s Soccer Second Team All-Conference
Name, School (Year, Position, Hometown)
Diego Zuniga, Adelphi (Jr., M, West New York, N.J.)
Jordan Hibbert, Adelphi (Jr., B, Toronto, Canada)
Marty Ryan, Bentley (So., M, Albany, N.Y.)
Terence Ciavarra, Franklin Pierce (Gr., B, Sutton, Mass.)
Cal Fitch, Le Moyne (Jr., B, Marcellus, N.Y.)
Mike Spadine, Le Moyne (Sr., F, Oswego, N.Y.)
Michael Rincon, Merrimack (Jr., M, Medford, Mass.)
Aaron DaCosta, Saint Michael’s (Fr., F, Newark, Del.)
Juan Garzon, Saint Rose (Sr., F, Cali, Colombia)
Mads Larsen, So. Connecticut (So., M, Trondheim, Norway)
Stephen Sasso, So. Connecticut (Jr., GK, Orange, Conn.)
Keegan Campbell, So. New Hampshire (Jr., B, Norton, Mass.)
Miguel Carneiro, So. New Hampshire (Jr., M, New Milford, Conn.)
Kenny Doublette, So. New Hampshire (Jr., F, Greenwich, Conn.)
Mohamed Toufik, So. New Hampshire (Jr., F, Grande-Synthe, France)

2013 Northeast-10 Men’s Soccer Third Team All-Conference
Name, School (Year, Position, Hometown)
Julian Hohns, Adelphi (Jr., B, Koblenz a Rhein, Germany)
Jason Ryan, American Int’l (Sr., GK, Woodbury, Conn.)
Lucas Spina, Assumption (Sr., B, Holliston, Mass.)
Dallas Donovan, Franklin Pierce (Fr., F, South Yarmouth, Mass.)
Pedro Espindola, Franklin Pierce (Fr., F, Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Bent Johansen, Franklin Pierce (Fr., B, Trondheim, Norway)
Jefferson Rojas, Franklin Pierce (Sr., M, Pawtucket, R.I.)
Ryan Ruffing, Franklin Pierce (Gr., F, Westborough, Mass.)
Augusto Silva, Merrimack (M, Hudson, Mass.)
Uros Antic, Saint Rose (Fr., M, Belgrade, Serbia)
Daquan King, So. Connecticut (So., F, Plainville, Conn.)
Ross McGibney, So. Connecticut (R-Sr., M, Dublin, Ireland)
Jonathan Lupinelli, So. New Hampshire (So., B, Mont de Marsan, France)
Christian Rodriguez, So. New Hampshire (Sr., M, Manchester, N.H.)

2013 Northeast-10 Men’s Soccer All-Rookie Team
Name, School (Position, Hometown)
Caelan Hueber, Adelphi (F, Cincinnati, Ohio)
TJ Butler, Adelphi (B, Weymouth, Mass.)
Emerson DeBrito, American Int’l (B, North Providence, R.I.)
Jack Blatchford, Bentley (GK, Douglas, Mass.)
Jose Tirado, Bentley (M, Lima, Peru)
Dallas Donovan, Franklin Pierce (F, South Yarmouth, Mass.)
Pedro Espindola, Franklin Pierce (F, Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Bent Johansen, Franklin Pierce (B, Trondheim, Norway)
Ethan Gunty, Le Moyne (M, Delmar, N.Y.)
Aaron DaCosta, Saint Michael’s (F, Newark, Del.)
Sebastian Brems*, So. Connecticut (M, Odense, Denmark)
Kevin Joslyn, So. Connecticut (F, Norwalk, Conn.)
Hugh Soriano, So. Connecticut (B, Wallingford, Conn.)
Patrick Keogh, Stonehill (Fr., B, Garden City, N.Y.)

* – Unanimous selection

Player of the Year – Pierre Omanga, Southern New Hampshire
Goalkeeper of the Year – Jose Silva, Merrimack
Defensive Player of the Year – Callum Williams, Southern New Hampshire
Rookie of the Year – Sebastian Brems, Southern Connecticut
Coach of the Year – Marc Hubbard, Southern New Hampshire